The Cesarewitch Betting

Like the Cambridgeshire this race was established in 1839, and over the years has probably become an even more famous Newmarket race. Unlike the Cambridgeshire however, the Cesarewitch is a stayer''s handicap, run over 2 miles and 2 furlongs, with the latter stages being run on the Rowley Mile.

It is a race that attracts horse from the stables of both the Flat and National Hunt racing codes, with the National Hunt trainers doing just the better over recent years. It open to horses aged three years or more, and is run on the second day at the final Newmarket meeting of the season, the Champions Meeting in mid October. The Cesarewitch and Cambridgeshire form the famous 'Autumn double' and have always been big betting handicaps. The race is currently restricted to 34 runners.

The Cesarewitch still holds the distinction of having never been won twice by the same horse although many have tried. Trainers also find it a hard race to dominate, with no modern day trainer having won it more than three times. Flat trainer Mark Johnston has had two winners in 2004 and 1998 and National Hunt trainer, Nicky Henderson, won the race in 2008 and before that in 2003.

It is not the greatest race for favourites, with only two winning in the last 17 years. However they both came in recent times with Darley Sun winning last year at 9/2 for trainer, David Simcock and Detroit City won at the same price for trainer, Philip Hobbs in 2006.

Cesarewitch 2019 Odds

Awaiting Odds.........

2019 Cesarewitch Racecard

Racecard will appear here when available.........

2018 Cesarewtich Result

Recent Cesarewitch Winners

Year Winner Jockey Trainer
2018 Low Sun S Heffernan W Mullins
2017 Withhold S De Sousa R Charlton
2016 Sweet Selection S De Sousa H Morrison
2015 Grumeti A Beschizza A King
2014 Big Easy T Queally P Hobbs
2013 Scatter Dice S De Sousa M Johnston
2012 Aaim To Prosper K Fallon B Meehan
2011 Never Can Tell F Dettori J Osbourne
2010 Aaim To Prosper L-P Beuzelin B Meehan
2009 Darley Sun A Atzeni D Simcock
2008 Caracciola E Ahern N Henderson
2007 Leg Spinner J Murtagh T Martin
2006 Detroit City J Spencer P Hobbs
2005 Sergeant Cecil A Munro R Millman
2004 Contact Dancer R Ffrench M Johnston
Top Offers Exclusive to new customers
Bet £10 Get £30 in Free Bets
Exclusive Promo Code
New William Hill online customers only. Min. unit stake of £10 at odds of 1/2 or greater. Only the 'win' part from EW bets will count. Free bet terms, payment method & country restrictions apply. Free bets credited as 3 x £10. Free bet stakes are not returned as part of the settlement of successful free bets. All Free Bets must be wagered within 30 days. T&C's apply, 18+
Up to £100 in bet credits
Exclusive Promo Code
Up to £100 in Bet Credits for new customers at bet365. Min deposit £5 and 1x settled bet requirement to release Bet Credits. Min odds, bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. Time limits and T&C's apply, 18+
Bet £10 Get £30
Exclusive Promo Code
New customers only – Minimum deposit of £10 using deposit code 30F - A qualifying bet is a ‘real money’ stake of at least £10 placed on any sports market - Minimum odds of 1/2 (1.5) - Free bets credited upon qualifying bet settlement and expire after 7 days - Free bet stakes not included in returns - Deposit balance is available for withdrawal at any time. General deposit method & withdrawal restrictions apply & full T&Cs apply.
Bet £20 & Get £20
Exclusive Promo Code
Select 'Use a promo code' in the drop-down list in the Cashier and enter SPORTS20. Deposit £20 or more. An extra £20 will be credited immediately. The deposit and bonus must be wagered 1x onSports at 1/2 (1.5) odds or higher. General bonus terms apply. This offer expires 31 May 23:59. T&C's apply, 18+