West Yorkshire Hurdle Betting

The West Yorkshire Hurdle, also known as the John Smith's Hurdle, is a cracking race that takes place at Wetherby during November. The Grade Two contest is one of the first national hunt events of the season so there is always plenty of betting interest in what happens over the 3 mile, 1 furlong trip, which includes 13 hurdles to be negotiated.

The race for horses aged four years old and over has become a permanent fixture in the national hunt jumps calendar since it was first run in 1990 and the top stables are usually we represented. When considering the betting it might be worth looking out for repeat winners as Boss Doyle achieved the feat for Mouse Morris at the turn of the century, while Fair Along landed the spoils for Philip Hobbs in 2009 and 2010.

There is rarely any shortage of quality in the ante-post betting market as World Hurdle winner Inglis Drever landed the West Yorkshire Hurdle in 2005, while Paul Nicholls' Tidal Bay used victory in this race as a springboard for success in the Lexus Chase during 2012.

Get a free bet on the West Yorkshire Hurdle.

Saturday 4th November - 2.40pm OddsWon/LostBet
West Yorkshire Hurdle    
Tips Wholestone to win    Best Bet @ 11 / 2  

2017 West Yorkshire Hurdle Odds

2017 West Yorkshire Hurdle Racecard

Racecard will appear here when available.........

2016 West Yorkshire Hurdle Result

Result Runner Jockey Trainer Odds
Fth 2. Ballyoptic R Hatch N Twiston-Davies 6/4
1st 6. Silsol J Sherwood P Nicholls 13/2

Recent West Yorkshire Hurdle Winners

Year Winner Age Trainer
2001 Boss Doyle 9 Mouse Morris
2002 Brother Joe 8 Philip Hobbs
2003 Gralmano 8 Kevin Ryan
2004 Telemoss 10 Nicky Richards
2005 Inglis Drever 6 Howard Johnson
2006 Redemption 11 Nigel Twiston-Davies
2007 Black Jack Ketchum 8 Jonjo O'Neill
2008 Pettifour 6 Nigel Twiston-Davies
2009 Fair Along 7 Philip Hobbs
2010 Fair Along 8 Philip Hobbs
2011 Restless Harry 7 Robin Dickin
2012 Tidal Bay 11 Paul Nicholls
2013 Tidal Bay 12 Paul Nicholls
2014 Cole Harden 5 Warren Greatrex
2015 Kilcooley 6 Charlie Longsdon
2016 Silsol 7 Paul Nicholls

Headline News

Rochdale V Tottenham Betting Preview Tottenhams Quality To Tell In The Second Half Of FA Cup Clash at Rochdale
Rochdale V Tottenham Betting Preview
Wigan V Manchester City Betting Preview Bank On A Fast Start To The Wigan v Man City FA Cup Tie
Wigan V Manchester City Betting Preview

Bookmaker Offers

  • Place your first bet on any Sportsbook market and if it loses Paddy Power will refund your stake in CASH.
  • Max refund for this offer is £20
  • New customers only, limited to one per person. If you’ve previously had a Paddy Power account, you will not qualify for the offer.
  • Over 18's Only, Terms and Conditions Apply

Open Account - £20 Risk Free Bet

  • Register and place an initial bet of £10
  • Boylesports will provide you with up to £25 in free bets

Open Account - £25 Free Bet

  • Enter the Promo Code F50 as you register
  • Place an initial bet of £10 or more
  • Ladbrokes will provide you a free bet of up to £50
  • Bet £50 and get £50 in free bets

Open Account - £50 Free Bet

  • Deposit and place a initial bet of £10
  • Coral will provide you with £30 in free bets
  • Visit Coral for full details

Open Account - £30 Free Bet

  • Deposit and place a initial bet of £10
  • Betfred will provide you with a £30 free bet that can be used on any sport
  • In addition to this, Betfred will provide you with 30 free spins on their online casino

Open Account - £30 Signup Offer

  • Deposit and place a initial bet of £10
  • BetVictor will provide you with a £40 in bonus funds
  • In addition to this BetVictor will also provide you with a £10 casino bonus

Open Account - £40 Free Bet

Online Casino

Online Casino Blackjack and Roulette Games

Those looking for some online casino entertainment ought to check out all the latest UK Casino Sign Up offers from the top operators including 32Red and many of the sports betting casinos.

There is excellent information, should you be interested in playing online blackjack, roulette, the best progressives or slots - Online Casino Betting with the best introductory offers

Sports Calendar - Betting Fixtures