Melbourne Cup Betting Guide

The Melbourne Cup will once again bring Australia to a standstill with a strong field mostly attracted no doubt by huge prize of over $6m Australian dollars and is the biggest Sports Betting event in Australia.

Although these days a bigger challenge is mounted by the international contingent, the race outcome is still dominated by Australian horses who won the race once again in 2009 with the Mark Kavanagh trained Shocking. Although 2010 saw the French trained horse Americain break the Aussie dominance, with French raider Dunaden taking victory in 2011. However, a strong European team were upset in 2012 as Australian trained horse Green Moon took victory.

2017 Melbourne Cup

Melbourne Cup 2017 Odds

Odds will appear here when available.........

Having A Bet On The Melbourne Cup

To get the very best Melbourne Cup odds it is essential that the best prices are found by using the links on this page. Each bookmaker will use their own prices for the race and it is important that punters maximise profits by backing their selection at the best price available.

There are many bookmakers listed here who offer excellent Melbourne Cup Free Online Bets, for those opening new accounts. This is a simple process which once completed and a bet is made the punter will receive the free contribution from his chosen Bookmaker.

2016 Melbourne Cup Result

Result Flemington - 1st Nov 2016 Age Jockey Trainer
1st Almandin 7/1 6 K McEvoy R Hickmott
2nd Heartbreak City 14/1 6 J Moreira A Martin
3rd Hartnell 9/2 Fav 5 J McDonald J O'Shea
4th Qewy 16/1 6 C Williams C Appleby

Previous Melbourne Cup Winners

Year Winner Trainer
2001 Ethereal Sheila Laxon
2002 Media Puzzle Dermot K. Weld
2003 Makybe Diva David Hall
2004 Makybe Diva Lee Freedman
2005 Makybe Diva Lee Freedman
2006 Delta Blues Katsuhiko Sumii
2007 Efficient Graeme Rogerson
2008 Viewed Bart Cummings
2009 Shocking Mark Kavanagh
2010 Americain Alain de Royer Dupre
2011 Dunaden Mikael Dezangles
2012 Green Moon Robert Hickmott
2013 Fiorente Gai Waterhouse
2014 Protectionist Andreas Wohler
2015 Prince Of Penzance Darren Weir
2016 Almandin Robert Hickmott

Headline News

Benfica V Manchester United Betting Preview Manchester United to outclass Benfica in Champions League clash
Benfica V Manchester United Betting Preview
Chelsea V Roma Betting Preview Chelsea To Edge A Tight Champions League Clash With Roma
Chelsea V Roma Betting Preview
2017 CJ Cup Betting Preview Patrick Reed Ranks As Our Best Bet For The Inaugural CJ Cup
2017 CJ Cup Betting Preview
2017 Andalucia Masters Betting Preview Valderrama Course Form Will Be Key For The Returning Andalucia Masters
2017 Andalucia Masters Betting Preview

Bookmaker Offers

  • Sign up to Bet365
  • Best price on every horse from 10am, for all ITV races.
  • Live in-play betting on thousands of markets.

Open Account - £- Sign up now

  • Deposit and place an initial bet of between £10 and £20
  • If your bet loses, Paddy Power will refund your stake, up to a maximum of £20
  • Unlike most other offers, your stake is returned to you as cash!

Open Account - £20 Risk Free Bet

  • Deposit and place a initial bet of £10
  • Coral will provide you with £30 in free bets
  • Visit Coral for full details

Open Account - £30 Free Bet

  • Enter the Promo Code F50 as you register
  • Place an initial bet of £10 or more
  • Ladbrokes will provide you a free bet of up to £50
  • Bet £50 and get £50 in free bets

Open Account - £50 Free Bet

  • Deposit and place a initial bet of £10
  • BetVictor will provide you with a £40 in bonus funds
  • In addition to this BetVictor will also provide you with a £10 casino bonus

Open Account - £40 Free Bet

  • Deposit and place a initial bet of £10
  • Betfred will provide you with a £30 free bet that can be used on any sport
  • You also get a £30 free casino bonus

Open Account - £60 Signup Offer

  • Enter the Promo Code C30 as you register a new account
  • Place an initial bet of £10
  • William Hill will give you three £10 free bets

Open Account - £30 Free Bet

  • Register and place 5 x £10 single bets.
  • Betfair will give you a £20 free bet
  • This can be reapted up to 5 times (5 x £20 free bets)
  • New customers only

Open Account - £100 In Free Bets

Online Casino

Online Casino Blackjack and Roulette Games

Those looking for some online casino entertainment ought to check out all the latest UK Casino Sign Up offers from the top operators including 32Red and many of the sports betting casinos.

There is excellent information, should you be interested in playing online blackjack, roulette, the best progressives or slots - Online Casino Betting with the best introductory offers

Sports Calendar - Betting Fixtures