Galway Plate Betting

The Galway Plate is the feature race of Ireland's premier horse racing festival, the Galway Festival, in July. The meeting involves seven days of racing, which means there are always plenty of odds, market and betting offers to take advantage of. It comes hot on the heels of the Glorious Goodwood Festival and it ensures there is never a dull moment for those keen to get involved in betting.

The Plate is a handicap race for horses aged 4-years-old and over, and as you would expect it is run at Ireland's Galway racecourse. It involves a 2 mile and 6 furlong trip, with 14 fences to be negotiated along the way.

Only one horse, Tipperary Boy, has won the race three times in a row, back in 1902, and online bookmakers could offer some tempting odds for a horse to repeat that feat nowadays. As with any big handicap, it is a competitive race and no one trainer has dominated the race.

Although famous Irish trainers such as Aidan O'Brien, Dermot Weld and Tom Taaffe have enjoyed success and their entries could be worth looking out for in the ante-post betting.

Wednesday 2nd August - 5.35pm OddsWon/LostBet
Galway Plate
Read our Betting Preview  
Tips Sandymount Duke to win     Best Bet @ 12 / 1  

Galway Plate 2017 Odds

2017 Galway Plate Racecard

Racecard will appear here..........

2016 Galway Plate Result

Result Runner Jockey Trainer Odds
1st 13. Lord Scoundrel D Meyler G Elliott 10/1
2nd 2. Alelchi Inois P Townend W Mullins 16/1
3rd 12. Ballycasey R Walsh W Mullins 10/1
4th 6. Devils Bride D Mullins W Mullins 16/1

Recent Galway Plate Winners

Year Winner Age Weight Trainer
2001 Grimes 8 10-01 Christy Roche
2002 Rockholm Boy 9 10-05 Michael Hourigan
2003 Nearly a Moose 7 10-01 Paddy Mullins
2004 Ansar 8 10-12 Dermot Weld
2005 Ansar 9 11-11 Dermot Weld
2006 Far From Trouble 7 10-04 Christy Roche
2007 Sir Frederick 7 9-10 Liam Burke
2008 Oslot 6 10-13 Paul Nicholls
2009 Ballyholland 8 10-09 Colin McBratney
2010 Finger On The Pulse 9 10-12 Tom Taafe
2011 Blazing Tempo 7 10-4 Willie Mullins
2012 Bob Lingo 10 10-3 Thomas Mullins
2013 Carlingford Lough 7 10-7 John Kiely
2014 Road To Riches 7 10-11 Noel Meade
2015 Shanahan's Turn 7 10-10 Henry De Bromhead
2016 Lord Scoundrel 7 10-7 G Elliott

Headline News

Benfica V Manchester United Betting Preview Manchester United to outclass Benfica in Champions League clash
Benfica V Manchester United Betting Preview
Chelsea V Roma Betting Preview Chelsea To Edge A Tight Champions League Clash With Roma
Chelsea V Roma Betting Preview
2017 CJ Cup Betting Preview Patrick Reed Ranks As Our Best Bet For The Inaugural CJ Cup
2017 CJ Cup Betting Preview
2017 Andalucia Masters Betting Preview Valderrama Course Form Will Be Key For The Returning Andalucia Masters
2017 Andalucia Masters Betting Preview

Bookmaker Offers

  • Sign up to Bet365
  • Best price on every horse from 10am, for all ITV races.
  • Live in-play betting on thousands of markets.

Open Account - £- Sign up now

  • Deposit and place an initial bet of between £10 and £20
  • If your bet loses, Paddy Power will refund your stake, up to a maximum of £20
  • Unlike most other offers, your stake is returned to you as cash!

Open Account - £20 Risk Free Bet

  • Deposit and place a initial bet of £10
  • Coral will provide you with £30 in free bets
  • Visit Coral for full details

Open Account - £30 Free Bet

  • Enter the Promo Code F50 as you register
  • Place an initial bet of £10 or more
  • Ladbrokes will provide you a free bet of up to £50
  • Bet £50 and get £50 in free bets

Open Account - £50 Free Bet

  • Deposit and place a initial bet of £10
  • BetVictor will provide you with a £40 in bonus funds
  • In addition to this BetVictor will also provide you with a £10 casino bonus

Open Account - £40 Free Bet

  • Deposit and place a initial bet of £10
  • Betfred will provide you with a £30 free bet that can be used on any sport
  • You also get a £30 free casino bonus

Open Account - £60 Signup Offer

  • Enter the Promo Code C30 as you register a new account
  • Place an initial bet of £10
  • William Hill will give you three £10 free bets

Open Account - £30 Free Bet

  • Register and place 5 x £10 single bets.
  • Betfair will give you a £20 free bet
  • This can be reapted up to 5 times (5 x £20 free bets)
  • New customers only

Open Account - £100 In Free Bets

Online Casino

Online Casino Blackjack and Roulette Games

Those looking for some online casino entertainment ought to check out all the latest UK Casino Sign Up offers from the top operators including 32Red and many of the sports betting casinos.

There is excellent information, should you be interested in playing online blackjack, roulette, the best progressives or slots - Online Casino Betting with the best introductory offers

Sports Calendar - Betting Fixtures